one step at a time.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010


Jen pointed out (in comments) that there are dietary requirements for many of her Brownies.  There are a few in mine, but no vegetarians.

For my Halal req Brownie we used profiteroles (without the cream filling) - I tried it and it tasted nice.  Just like you'd imagine dry profiteroles covered in white choc might taste.  It also looked quite good but was much more difficult to do as she had to dip each profiterole in the choc and roll it around, then skewer it and stick the 3 lumps together at the top of the stick.

As to our milk and egg allergies - they can have the things IN stuff... and there actually wasn't anything in the marshmallows other than the gelatine (which clearly would rule out veggies).

For the nut allergy I checked EVERYTHING but there was no 'trace nut' warning on any of the items.
The Marshmallow Snowmen came out like this:

I ate most of mine... it was so sweet it made me feel sick!  I binned the bottom marshmallow.


Travis Cody said...

I had never heard the word profiterole before, so I had to look it up. I've probably eaten them, but by a different name.

Jen said...

Looks beautiful, even better than the initial pic you posted! I wonder if profiteroles have egg in, if not, then even my strictest vegan Brownie could do it.

TopChamp said...

Trav - ha! That amuses me as I have had to do that often on Vinnie's food posts. They're a common desert here.

Jen - if I hadn't binned the remaining ones (as I decided I didn't need to eat them!) I would look it up for you.

Coco said...

They are even better looking than the originals! Really really cute idea!